Log in
Together, IAPS schools represent a multi-billion pound enterprise. Our schools educate more than 175,000 children and employ more than 34,000 members of staff.
IAPS is the voice of independent prep school education, and we work with and lobby governments on an international stage to ensure the needs of our members, and the independent sector as a whole, are met.
Schools can only join IAPS if they can demonstrate the highest standards of education and care. Our member schools offer an all-round, values-led, broad education, which produces confident, adaptable, motivated children with a lifelong passion for learning.
In order to be elected to membership, a Head must be suitably qualified and schools must be accredited through a satisfactory inspection.
While the values may be the same, each of our schools is independent and distinct: we have single-sex and co-educational, boarding, day and mixed, urban and rural. Sizes vary from more than 800 pupils to around 100.
Most of our schools are charitable trusts, some are limited companies, and others are proprietary. There are also junior schools attached to senior schools, choir schools, those with a particular religious affiliation and those that offer specialist provision.
With more than 600 members in the UK and around 50 abroad, IAPS offers excellent opportunities for fellowship and networking.
We have one of the independent sector’s top training programmes, which includes a broad range of professional development courses. New members are offered an experienced Head as a mentor and members are divided into district groups by geographical location, giving them the chance to meet with fellow heads on a regular basis.
Our website with a dedicated members’ area is packed with news, policy examples, advice and support. The site also actively promotes the prep school sector to parents and the media.
The Council and Officers for 2017–2018
Chairman of IAPS: Chris Davies
Vice-Chairman: Tania Botting
Members of Council:
Jeremy Banks
Mark Gibbons
Edward Balfour
Mark Hammond
Clare Bruce
Sebastian Hepher
Christopher Cann
Christopher McDade
Justin Chippendale
Andrew Nott
Mike Crossley
Roger Overend
Maureen Cussans
David Sibson
Gareth Davies
Howard Tuckett
Adam Edwards
Jane Whittingham
Chief Executive: David Hanson
Director of Education: Mark Brotherton
Finance and Operations Director: Richard Flower
Membership Secretary: Petra Hancock
Association Administrator: Christine McCrudden
Independent Association of Prep Schools
11 Waterloo Place, Leamington Spa CV32 5LA
Tel: 01926 887833 • email: