Log in
The Independent Schools Association, established in 1879, is one of the oldest of the Headteachers’ Associations of independent schools that make up the Independent Schools Council. It began life as the Association of Principals of Private Schools, which was created to encourage high standards and foster friendliness and cooperation among Heads who had previously worked in isolation. In 1895 it was incorporated as The Private Schools Association and in 1927 the word ‘private’ was replaced by ‘independent’. ISA is a Registered Charity with a service-led approach to supporting its Members and the wider educational community. The Association’s dedication to its Members, including the delivery of instant, expert advice, has resulted in growth of over 50% in the last five years and ISA is now regarded as the most representative of any organisation within the sector.
Membership is open to any independent school Head or Proprietor provided they meet the necessary criteria, which includes accreditation by any government-approved inspectorate. ISA’s Executive Council is elected by Members and supports all developments of the Association through its Committee structure and the strong regional network of Coordinators and Area Committees. Each of ISA’s seven Areas in turn supports Members through an extensive programme of training events and meetings.
ISA celebrates a wide ranging membership, not confined to any one type of school, but including all: nursery, pre-preparatory, junior, preparatory and senior, all-through schools, co-educational, single-sex, boarding, day, and performing arts and special schools.
Promoting best practice and fellowship for Members remains at the core of the Association, just as it did when it began 130 years ago. The 400 Members and their schools enjoy high quality national conferences and courses that foster excellence in independent education. ISA’s central office also supports Members and provides advice, and represents the views of its membership at national and governmental levels. Pupils in ISA schools enjoy a wide variety of competitions, in particular the wealth of sporting, artistic and academic activities at Area and National level.
Council and Officers 2016–2017
Lord Lexden OBE
Mr Michael Hewett
Mrs Deborah Leek-Bailey OBE
Mr Paul Moss
Mr John Wood
Honorary Officers
Mr Stuart Nicholson (Chair)
Dr Sarah Welch (Vice Chair)
Mr Alex Gear (Vice Chair)
Elective Councillors
Mr Amjad Ahmed
Mr Nilesh Manani
Mr Adrian Blake
Mrs Claire Osborn
Mr Andrew Hampton
Mr Phil Soutar
Mr Barry Huggett OBE
Mr Jonathan Ullmer MBE
Mrs Pam Hutley
Mr Richard Walden
Mrs Janet Lowe
Mrs Susan Webb
Mr Stephen McKernan
Mr James Wilding
Area Coordinators
East Anglia: Mrs Clare Ogden [acting]
Midlands: Mr Matthew Adshead
London North: Mrs Lynn Maggs-Wellings
North: Mr Jeff Shaw [acting]
London South: Mrs Angela Culley
South West: Mr Paul Easterbrook
London West: Miss Vicky Smit
Chief Executive Officer: Neil Roskilly
Deputy Chief Executive Officer: Peter Woodroffe
Professional Development Officer: Alice Jeffries
Office Manager and PA to the CEO: Karen Goddard
Independent Schools Association
ISA House, 5–7 Great Chesterford Court, Great Chesterford, Essex CB10 1PF
Tel: 01799 523619 • email: